Sister Mary Prisca Pfeffer, RSM H'15 Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Dr. Carole Pfeffer '70, the niece of Sister Mary Prisca Pfeffer, RSM, to honor the life and legacy of Sister Prisca and her unwavering commitment to Mercy education and Assumption High School.

On August 15, 1955, Sister Prisca was appointed first principal of Assumption High School and was responsible, along with other Sisters of Mercy, for establishing our beloved Assumption.

Many of the traditions that Sister Prisca instituted are still in place. Sister Prisca was a leader and role model in the community, an inspiration to young and old, and demonstrated an unwavering commitment to AHS. The purpose of this scholarship is to recognize an Assumption student(s) who personifies Sister Mary Prisca by showing exemplary Christian leadership and perseverance through academics and service in her school and community.

Criteria:

The \$1,000 Sister Mary Pfeffer Prisca, RSM Scholarship is awarded to a **current** Freshman, Sophomore, or Junior who meets the following criteria:

- 1. Students(s) must demonstrate need and apply for aid based upon the School's formal financial aid application process.
- 2. Maintains a B average or above
- 3. Demonstrates compassion and caring to those around her
- 4. Applies herself and strives to do her best in the classroom
- 5. Expresses a positive outlook on life and encourages others
- 6. Is involved in extra-curricular activities either in or outside of school
- 7. Applicants should be positive role models both in and outside of school; good representatives of AHS values; a and be in good academic and disciplinary standing and not have any significant attendance issues.

A typed, one-page essay referring to the criteria above should be submitted.

DEADLINE - Submit to jackie.bloyd@ahsrockets.org by **midnight, Tuesday, March 1, 2022**. You will receive a confirmation email within 24 hours. IF YOU DO NOT RECEIVE A CONFIRMATION EMAIL you must contact Jackie Bloyd at 271-2511 within 24 hours of the deadline. The winner will be announced at the End of the Year Celebration currently scheduled on May 23, 2022.