Assumption High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
About » Awards


Class of 2017 Accomplishments
  • 222 Graduates
  • 99% Pursuing Higher Education
  • Over $26 million in college scholarships
  • 3,351 College Credits Earned
  • 14 Scholar’s Thesis Candidates
  • 21,439 Hours of Community Service (over four years)
  • 3 Recognized by the National Merit Corporation
  • 2 U of L Honor’s Choir Members
  • 1 2016 Churchill Downs Winner’s Circle Governor’s Scholar
  • 8 Governor’s Scholars
  • 9 Kentucky Regional Scholastic Art Winners
  • 2016 Field Hockey KHSAA State Champions
  • 19 Advanced Placement Scholars
  • 17 AP Scholars, 1 with Honor, 1 with Distinction
  • First Place American Scholastic Press Association: The Rosecall Newspaper
  • 2 National Speech & Debate Association All Americans, 1 International Debate Competitor
  • 1 United States Presidential Scholar Candidate
  • 2 AXA Achievers National Scholarship Recipients (out of three total selected from Kentucky)
  • Raised $27,000 at the 2017 Pink and White game for the Norton Breast Health Program with over $222,000 raised in ten years.
Blue Ribbon School of Excellence
  • Assumption High School is the only girls' school in Louisville and one of only 41 nation-wide to receive this prestigious award from the US Department of Education three times.
National Catholic Education Association School for Tomorrow
  • Assumption is the only school in the nation to win the National Catholic Education Association's (NCEA) Innovations in Education Award four times.
  • In 2005 Assumption was one of only 12 schools in the country to earn the "Innovations in Education" for exemplary innovations in the staff development area. Assumption continues to focus on its Catholic identity and uses a research-based application of learning theory with teachers for ongoing faculty development.
  • The 2005 award commends Assumption for implementing faculty focus groups in several student skill areas, including note-taking, time management, critical thinking, technology, writing and reading comprehension. Focus groups are designed to help teachers become experts in a chosen area and bring those skills into the classrooms.
  • In 2009 Assumption was one of only 12 schools in the country to earn the "Innovations in Education" Award in the area of innovation in promoting Catholic identity. 
  • The 2009 award commends Assumption on the annual Mission Week Program, which allows students to participate in educational experiences including prayer services, field trips, service work, retreats, guest speakers, and creative interdisciplinary studies while working in collaboration with hundreds of community members and organizations.  Assumption students have an opportunity to learn with mind, body, and spirit.
  • In 2011 Assumption was one of only 12 schools in the country to earn the "Innovations in Education" Award in the area of community involvement. 
  • The 2011 award commends Assumption on the annual BLOOM (Bring Life Onstage/Offstage for Ministry) Theatre project, which gives students, faculty, staff, and alumnae the opportunity to explore the social justice problems that are prevalent within our community and work to bring awareness to their importance.
  • In 2013 Assumption was one of only 12 schools in the country to earn the "Innovations in Education" Award in the area of marketing. 
  • NCEA website
Recognized American Counselor Association Model Program (RAMP)
  • Assumption was one of only eight schools in the nation to earn the Recognized American School Counselor Association (ASCA) Model Program (RAMP) designation in 2005.  In 2008, Assumption was again honored with the RAMP designation for a continued commitment to a comprehensive school counseling program.
  • The RAMP designation is an honor granted to schools that are committed to delivering a comprehensive, data-driven school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. RAMP designees prove that students are different as a result of what school counselors do.
  • RAMP applications are reviewed once a year by a panel of school counseling professionals and the designation is valid for three years. 
  • More information on the ASCA website
Learning Differences of Kentucky Beacon of Hope School
  • The Making a Difference Award honors a school whose primary mission is not one of special education, but whose faculty and staff work individually with special needs students.
  • It spotlights an institution that "believes in the potential of all students, regardless of their learning differences, as they prepare for their successful place in society." Assumption is the first school to receive the award.
Award-winning Faculty and Staff

Members of Assumption faculty and staff received the following awards:

  • Business teacher Sandy Maxted received the 2016 Kentucky Jump Start Coalition Financial Literacy Teacher of the Year.
  • Eight faculty members were invited to be national 2016 AP Readers including Jonni Stich Miller ’82 for AP Biology, Kelly Kirwan for AP English Literature and Composition; Jennifer Shirley for AP French Language and Composition; James Sutherland for AP Spanish Language and Composition; Lisa Wieland for AP English Language and Composition; Paula Spugnardi for AP Art History; Joy Moeller for AP Spanish Language and Composition; and Becca Schindler Joaquin ’97 (not pictured) for AP Human Geography.
  • Science teacher Sally Craven's AP Environmental Science students were award a $3,000 grant from the Knollenberg Foundation by Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer for their three-pronged plan on the Assumption campus to combat Louisville’s urban heat island.
  • Director of the Guidance Department Dawn Deweese was awarded the 2015 Irene Casey Inclusion Award by the Archdiocese of Louisville.
  • English teacher and Assumption speech and debate team moderator Woody Zorn earned his first diamond rating in the National Speech and Debate Association.
  • Science teacher and Assumption varsity field hockey coach Debbie Judd was awarded the 2015 Field Hockey Coach of the Year for Kentucky by the National Federation of State High School Associations.
  • English teacher Katie Caswell placed second in the International Short Prose and Poetry Contest with her piece, “A Lesson from Picasso: Portrait of War” and her piece “His Sunset,” was one of two short fiction stories selected for publication in Kentucky Monthly’s literary issue.
  • Science teacher Debbie Judd was asked to be a site visitor for the accreditation of Pitt Academy.
  • Journalism teacher Dr. Lisa Wieland was awarded a Certified Journalism Educator status by the Journalism Education Association.
  • French teacher Jennifer Shirley was recognized by the College Board’s Advanced Placement Program and Educational Testing Service for significant contributions at the 2012 AP Reading.
  • Volleyball coach Ron Kordes was named AVCA National High School Coach of the Year and was inducted into the Louisville Catholic Sports Hall of Fame.
  • Science teacher Jonni Miller achieved her national teaching certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.
  • English teacher Jennifer Goldberg completed her Ph.D. in Humanities at the University of Louisville.
  • Bell Choir Director Steven Straub won the Dan Ulmer award.
  • Eight teachers were invited to read AP exams in 2015. 
  • Gloria Thornburg DMin H’11 received the NCEA Catholic Secondary Schools Department Educational Excellence Award that recognizes her distinguished service to Catholic education.